Calvary, St. Charles, Oak Grove Claim Awards on 2023 LSL Class 2A All-State Team

Three teams that made it to the LHSAA Prep Classic in 2023 have claimed the major awards for the 2023 Louisiana Sportsline Class 2A All-State Football team.

Calvary Baptist quarterback Abram Wardell was selected as the LSL Class 2A Offensive Player of the Year. Wardell completed an astonishing 78% of his passes, logging over 3,800 yards and 45 touchdowns while only throwing two interceptions in the Cavaliers state championship run.

St. Charles linebacker Kyle Cannon is the LSL Class 2A Defensive Player of the Year. The Southeastern Louisiana signee recorded 133 tackles, 15.5 tackles for loss, 9.5 sacks, and five interceptions of which he returned two for touchdowns.

Oak Grove head coach Ryan Gregory was named the LSL Class 2A Coach of the Year after leading the Tigers to a 12-2 record and the Division IV Non-Select state title. It is the Tigers fourth state title in five seasons in Gregory’s tenure as head coach of his alma mater.

The first team running backs are Braeden George of Episcopal (1,808 yards, 27 TD), Jeremiah James of Many (2,187 yards, 25 TD), and James Simon of Calvary Baptist (1,814 total yards, 24 total TD).

Selected at wide receiver are Georgetown signee Jac Comeaux of Dunham (974 yards, 13 TD), Aubrey Hermes of Calvary Baptist (1,363 yards, 15 TD) and Jaiden Mitchell of Catholic-New Iberia (910 yards, 12 TD). The first team tight end is J.T. Layton of Oak Grove (568 total yards, 7 total TD).

The first team offensive linemen are LSU commit Brett Bordelon of Newman, Kaleb Houston of St. Charles, Luke Schultz of Notre Dame, Truitt Tietz of Oak Grove, and Jimmy Wright of Calvary Baptist.

At kicker is Tyler Milioto of St. Charles (51/53 PAT, 10/13 FG) and at athlete is Louisiana Tech commit Jackson Bradley of Oak Grove (3,042 total yards, 40 total TD).

The defensive line consists of Jaden Breaux of St. Charles (100 tackles, 10 sacks), Isaiah Joles of Oak Grove (79 tackles, 10 sacks), Jalen Boley of Mangham (109 tackles, 11 sacks), and Kaine Olivier of Loreauville (127 tackles, 14 sacks).

Joining Cannon at first team linebacker are Ouachita Baptist commit Hutch Grace of Calvary Baptist (97 tackles, 13 TFL), Southeastern Louisiana signee James Harris of Oak Grove (107 tackles, 6 sacks, 2 INT), and Trace McHugh of Loreauville (146 tackles, 7 sacks, 2 INT).

At defensive back are Drew Bourgeois of Dunham (50 tackles, 4 INT), LSU signee Tylen Singleton of Many (149 tackles, 2 INT), Walker Dauzat of Episcopal (38 tackles, 7 INT) and Southeast Missouri signee Landon Sylvie of Calvary Baptist (94 tackles, 3 INT).

The first team punter is Ryan Hicks of Holy Savior Menard (43 yard average), the first team kick returner is Jy’heim Williams of South Plaquemines (569 total return yards, 5 return TD). The first team selection at the flex position is Kam Williams of General Trass (1,706 rush yards, 17 TD/120 tackles, 13 sacks).


QB Abram Wardell, Calvary Baptist (6’0 190 Jr.)
RB Braeden George, Episcopal (5’11 185 Sr.)
RB Jeremiah James, Many (5’11 195 Sr.)
RB James Simon, Calvary Baptist (6’0 200 Jr.)
WR Jac Comeaux, Dunham (5’10 160 Sr.)
WR Aubrey Hermes, Calvary Baptist (6’3 180 Sr.)
WR Jaiden Mitchell, Catholic-New Iberia (5’8 140 Jr.)
TE J.T. Layton, Oak Grove (6’3 220 Jr.)
OL Brett Bordelon, Newman (6’5 285 Jr.)
OL Kaleb Houston, St. Charles (5’9 280 Sr.)
OL Luke Schultz, Notre Dame (6’4 270 Sr.)
OL Truitt Tietz, Oak Grove (6’2 240 Sr.)
OL Jimmy Wright, Calvary Baptist (6’2 245 Sr.)
K Tyler Milioto, St. Charles (So.)
ATH Jackson Bradley, Oak Grove (6’3 200 Jr.)

DL Jaden Breaux, St. Charles (6’2 190 Sr.)
DL Isaiah Joles, Oak Grove (6’0 245 Jr.)
DL Jalen Boley, Oak Grove (6’2 255 Sr.)
DL Kaine Olivier, Loreauville (6’4 210 Sr.)
LB Kyle Cannon, St. Charles (6’1 220 Sr.)
LB Hutch Grace, Calvary Baptist (6’1 220 Sr.)
LB James Harris, Oak Grove (6’2 225 Sr.)
LB Trace McHugh, Loreauville (5’9 185 Sr.)
DB Drew Bourgeois, Dunham (5’8 160 Sr.)
DB Walker Dauzat, Episcopal (Sr.)
DB Tylen Singleton, Many (6’2 210 Sr.)
DB Landon Sylvie, Calvary Baptist (5’11 170 Sr.)
P Ryan Hicks, Holy Savior Menard (6’0 165 Sr.)
KR Jy’heim Williams, South Plaquemines (5’9 160 Jr.)
FLX Kam Williams, General Trass (6’2 215 Sr.)

Offensive Player of the Year: Abram Wardell, Calvary Baptist
Defensive Player of the Year: Kyle Cannon, St. Charles
Coach of the Year: Ryan Gregory, Oak Grove

QB Elijah Haven, Dunham (6’4 180 Fr.)
RB Kameron Casnave, Northlake Christian (6’1 225 So.)
RB Jeramiah Wills, St. Charles (5’11 165 Sr.)
RB Hayden Van Ness, Welsh (5’8 165 Sr.)
WR Desmen Jefferson, Ferriday (5’10 165 So.)
WR Daniel Joseph, St. Charles (6’4 180 Sr.)
WR Peter Loop, Newman (5’10 175 Sr.)
TE Will Loerzel, Newman (6’5 245 Sr.)
OL Shaun Basey, D’Arbonne Woods (6’3 330 Sr.)
OL Drew Desormeaux, Catholic-New Iberia (6’0 265 Sr.)
OL Peyton Peebles, Ascension Episcopal (6’1 230 Sr.)
OL Aiden Valle, Oakdale (5’11 240 Sr.)
OL Will York, Episcopal (5’10 185 Sr.)
K Joseph Whitehouse, Pope John Paul II (6’1 170 Sr.)
ATH Jay Freeman, Oak Grove (5’8 155 Jr.)

DL Swazy Carheel, Many (6’3 235 Sr.)
DL Sam Kirsch, Notre Dame (6’2 235 Sr.)
DL Ethan Ott, Episcopal (5’11 190 Sr.)
DL Ethan Sands, Calvary Baptist (6’2 260 Sr.)
LB Jackson Casanova, Notre Dame (6’0 205 Jr.)
LB Alex Phillips, South Plaquemines (5’10 170 Jr.)
LB Seth Ray, Oak Grove (5’11 195 Jr.)
LB Cooper Scott, Holy Savior Menard (6’2 210 Sr.)
DB Landon Ferrell, Oak Grove (6’2 195 Sr.)
DB Braylun Huglon, Calvary Baptist (5’10 170 Fr.)
DB Jaylen O’Neal, Mansfield (5’7 135 Jr.)
DB Decareyn Sampson, Avoyelles (5’11 175 Sr.)
P Logan Sorrel, Dunham (6’3 195 So.)
KR Jay’shaun Johnson, Franklin (6’0 175 Sr.)
FLX Heath Gross, Calvary Baptist (6’2 215 Sr.)