Ruston, Airline Claim Honors On 2023 LSL 5A All-State Team

Louisiana Sportsline’s final all-state football team for the 2023 season has been released, honoring the top football players in Class 5A.

Airline quarterback Ben Taylor is the Offensive Player of the Year. The junior gunslinger led the Vikings to the Division I Non-Select quarterfinals before falling to Mandeville in a shootout. Taylor completed 73% of his passes, tallying 4,189 passing yards and 49 touchdowns while throwing only nine interceptions.

Ruston linebacker Jadon Mayfield is the Defensive Player of the Year. The Louisiana Tech signee was key for the Bearcats stallwart state champion defense, accounting for 116 tackles, 16 tackles for loss, and six sacks.

The Coach of the Year award goes to Jerrod Baugh of Ruston. He led the Bearcats to and undefeated season and to the state championship game for the second year in-a-row, finally breaking through this year to win their first state title since 1990.

The first team selections at running back are Cashmire Batiste of Carencro (1,651 yards, 27 TD), Jordan Hayes of Ruston (1,752 yards, 20 TD), and Nate Sheppard of Mandeville (2,155 total yards, 36 total TD).

First team picks at wide receiver are Jarvis Davis of Airline (1,276 yards, 14 total TD), TaRon Francis of Edna Karr (929 yards, 9 TD), and Louisiana baseball signee Brooks Wright of Catholic-Baton Rouge (820 yards, 16 TD). The first team tight end is LSU signee Trey’Dez Green of Zachary (960 yards, 12 TD).

On the offensive line, the first team selections are TCU signee Kavion Broussard of Zachary, LSU signee Joseph Cryer of Natchitoches Central, Bryce Godfrey of John Curtis, Jackson Hammond of Acadiana, and Erv Smith of Catholic-Baton Rouge.

The first team kicker is LSU signee Aeron Burrell (34/35 PAT, 9/18 FG, long of 55) and the first team athlete is Chantz Babineaux of Carencro (3,745 total yards, 43 total TD).

Moving on to the defensive side, the first team defensive line consists of Richard Anderson of Edna Karr (49 tackles, 11 sacks), Tulane signee Geordan Guidry of Ruston (61 tackles, 10.5 sacks), LSU commit Dominick McKinley of Acadiana (71 tackles, 5 sacks), and Jahkeem Stewart of St. Augustine (85 tackles, 20 sacks).

Joining Mayfield as first team linebackers are LSU signee Kolaj Cobbins of Destrehan (77 tackles, 12 sacks), Cale Daigle of St. Paul’s (97.5 tackles, 10 sacks), and Shamarius Harris of Acadiana (130 tackles, 11 tackles for loss).

In the defensive backfield are Aidan Anding of Ruston (34 tackles, 4 INT), E.J. McDonald of Captain Shreve (44 tackles, 6 INT), Ole Miss signee Anthony Robinson of Destrehan (37 tackles, 2 INT), and Cooper Smith of Sam Houston (51 tackles, 8 INT).

At first team punter is John Chance of Captain Shreve (44 average) and at first team kick returner is Jaden Bardales of Walker (4 return TD). The first team selection at the flex position is Houston signee Koby Young of Holy Cross.


QB Ben Taylor, Airline (6’1 180 Jr.)
RB Cashmire Batiste, Carencro (5’9 175 Sr.)
RB Jordan Hayes, Ruston (5’9 160 Jr.)
RB Nate Sheppard, Mandeville (5’11 180 Jr.)
WR Jarvis Davis, Airline (5’10 160 Jr.)
WR TaRon Francis, Edna Karr (6’2 205 Jr.)
WR Brooks Wright, Catholic-BR (6’3 185 Sr.)
TE Trey’Dez Green, Zachary (6’7 230 Sr.)
OL Kavion Broussard, Zachary (6’6 280 Sr.)
OL Joseph Cryer, Natchitoches Central (6’4 290 Sr.)
OL Bryce Godfrey, John Curtis (6’3 280 Sr.)
OL Jackson Hammond, Acadiana (6’2 285 Sr.)
OL Erv Smith, Catholic-BR (6’2 280 Jr.)
K Aeron Burrell, Parkway (6’2 180 Sr.)
ATH Chantz Babineaux, Carencro (5’11 185 So.)

DL Richard Anderson, Edna Karr (6’3 280 So.)
DL Geordan Guidry, Ruston (6’3 260 Sr.)
DL Dominick McKinley, Acadiana (6’7 280 Sr.)
DL Jahkeem Stewart, St. Augustine (6’6 270 So.)
LB Kolaj Cobbins, Destrehan (6’3 215 Sr.)
LB Cale Daigle, St. Paul’s (6’0 200 Jr.)
LB Shamarius Harris, Acadiana (5’11 215 Sr.)
LB Jadon Mayfield, Ruston (6’0 230 Sr.)
DB Aidan Anding, Ruston (6’0 165 Jr.)
DB E.J. McDonald, Captain Shreve (6’2 180 Sr.)
DB Anthony Robinson, Destrehan (6’1 190 Sr.)
DB Cooper Smith, Sam Houston (6’0 180 Jr.)
P John Chance, Captain Shreve (6’1 200 Sr.)
KR Jaden Bardales, Walker (5’8 150 Sr.)
FLX Koby Young, Holy Cross (6’1 180 Sr.)

Offensive Player of the Year: Ben Taylor, Airline
Defensive Player of the Year: Jadon Mayfield, Ruston
Coach of the Year: Jerrod Baugh, Ruston

QB Daniel Beale, Catholic-BR (6’1 195 Sr.)
RB Ezekiel Hypolite, Acadiana (5’8 170 Sr.)
RB Greg Manning, Benton (5’8 175 Sr.)
RB Jamarlon Otis, Captain Shreve (5’6 170 Jr.)
WR Tyson George, Zachary (5’9 165 Sr.)
WR Jamari Evans, Walker (5’8 150 Sr.)
WR Sebastian Miller, Fontainebleau (5’10 170 Jr.)
TE J.D. Lafleur, Sulphur (6’6 220 Jr.)
OL Nate Green, West Monroe (6’5 310 Sr.)
OL Devin Harper, Captain Shreve (6’6 295 Jr.)
OL Khayree Lee, John Ehret (6’5 310 Sr.)
OL Jayce Mitchell, Destrehan (6’3 275 Sr.)
OL Sam Nations, Ruston (6’2 260 Jr.)
K Drew Talley, St. Paul’s (5’10 165 Jr.)
ATH Cole Canatella, Holy Cross (6’0 180 Sr.)

DL Corey Adams, Edna Karr (6’4 265 Jr.)
DL Talan Bingham, Terrebonne (6’2 235 Sr.)
DL Kameron Cyprien, Carencro (6’3 225 Sr.)
DL Diego Spears, Dutchtown (6’1 260 Sr.)
LB Tahj Butler, Edna Karr (6’2 225 Sr.)
LB Nick Degerolamo, Holy Cross (5’10 180 Jr.)
LB Jalil Matthews, Terrebonne (5’11 170 Sr.)
LB Albert Smith, Ponchatoula (6’1 205 Sr.)
DB Jacob Bradford, Catholic-BR (6’1 180 Jr.)
DB Carter Hanberry, Dutchtown (6’0 200 Sr.)
DB Dashawn McBryde, Denham Springs (6’2 200 Sr.)
DB Amyrion Mingo, Alexandria (5’11 170 Sr.)
P Edis Chavez, John Ehret (5’9 165 Sr.)
KR Russell Babineaux, Acadiana (5’8 160 Jr.)
FLX Michael Turner, John Curtis (6’1 150 Sr.)