Williams, Wilson, Roark Take Awards on 2023 LSL Class 3A All-State Team

Three team share the major awards on the 2023 Louisiana Sportsline Class 3A All-State football team.

St. James quarterback Jayden Williams is the Offensive Player of the Year after accounting for 3,419 total yards of offense and 49 touchdowns while leading the Wildcats back to the Superdome.

Union Parish linebacker Tyquerius Wilson is the Defensive Player of the Year. Wilson was the cornerstone of the Farmers state championship defense, accounting for an impressive 212 tackles, 20 tackles for loss, nine sacks, and an interception.

Jena head coach Jay Roark has been named the Coach of the Year after leading the Giants to an undefeated regular season, the top seed in the Division III Non-Select Playoffs, and the first semifinal appearance in program history.

Brayden Williams was selected as the first team athlete, with the quarterback position going to Abram Johnston of Parkview Baptist (2,128 pass yards, 29 TD).

The first team running backs are Jy’Marion Island of Union Parish (2,496 yards, 25 TD), Jena’s all-time leading rusher Zerrick Jones (2,248 yards, 36 TD), and Ja’Vain Reese of Northwest (1,925 yards, 33 TD).

The selections at first team wide receiver are Kobe Brown of St. James (1,248 yards, 15 TD), Brock Comeaux of Parkview Baptist (1,075 yards, 16 TD), and Seth Gale of University Lab (988 yards, 16 TD). The first team tight end is Austin Hebert of Iota (487 yards, 7 TD).

The keys to many of the top offenses in the state, the first team offensive lineman are MaxPreps sophomore All-American Lamar Brown of University Lab, Henderson State commit Eli Head of Caldwell Parish, TCU signee Mitch Hodnett of Sterlington, Josh Moy of Union Parish, and Deuce Williams of St. James.

McNeese State commit Landon Daughdril of St. Louis was selected as the first team kicker and punter (32/32 PAT, 12/15 FG, 42.9 punt average).

Joining Wilson as first team linebackers are Graham Montet of St. Louis (103 tackles, 3 sacks), Adrian Prean of St. James (97 tackles, 5.5 sacks), and Navy commit Harry Beacham of University Lab (134 tackles, 3 sacks).

First team selections on the defensive line are Mackenzie Ardoin of Northwest (64 tackles, 9 sacks), Nick Chopin of St. James (73 tackles, 10 sacks), Nickolas Thomas of Kennedy (45 tackles, 14 sacks) and North Texas signee Jayden Williams of Wossman (76 tackles, 27 tackles for loss).

At defensive back, the first team selections are Erick Franklin of LCCP (102 tackles, 2 INT), Demaryion Hammock of Jena (39 tackles, 7 INT), Kyreon Prier of Marksville (125 tackles, 6 INT), and Jarrell Williams of St. James (56 tackles, 7 INT).

James Evans of Kennedy (7 punt return TD) is the first team pick at kick returner and Keylan Moses of University Lab (69 tackles, 9 sacks) is the first team pick at the flex position.


QB Abram Johnston, Parkview Baptist (6’0 190 Sr.)
RB Jy’Marion Island, Union Parish (5’8 180 Sr.)
RB Zerrick Jones, Jena (5’8 180 Sr.)
RB Ja’Vain Reese, Northwest (5’7 200 Sr.)
WR Kobe Brown, St. James (5’10 160 Sr.)
WR Brock Comeaux, Parkview Baptist (5’8 170 Jr.)
WR Seth Gale, University Lab (5’9 160 Sr.)
TE Austin Hebert, Iota (6’0 190 Sr.)
OL Lamar Brown, University Lab (6’4 260 So.)
OL Eli Head, Caldwell Parish (6’5 285 Sr.)
OL Mitch Hodnett, Sterlington (6’6 295 Sr.)
OL Josh Moy, Union Parish (6’2 305 Jr.)
OL Deuce Williams, St. James (6’2 315 Sr.)
K Landon Daughdril, St. Louis (5’10 170 Sr.)
ATH Brayden Williams, St. James (6’0 175 Sr.)

DL Mackenzie Ardoin, Northwest (6’5 215 Sr.)
DL Nick Chopin, St. James (6’1 215 Sr.)
DL Nickolas Thomas, John F. Kennedy (6’0 245 Sr.)
DL Jayden Williams, Wossman (6’3 290 Sr.)
LB Harry Beacham, University Lab (6’1 220 Sr.)
LB Graham Montet, St. Louis (5’11 200 Sr.)
LB Adrian Prean, St. James (6’1 245 Sr.)
LB Tyquerius Wilson, Union Parish (5’11 175 Jr.)
DB Erick Franklin, LCCP (5’10 180 Sr.)
DB Demariyon Hammock, Jena (5’10 140 Sr.)
DB Kyreon Prier, Marksville (5’10 170 Jr.)
DB Jarrell Williams, St. James (6’0 170 Jr.)
P Landon Daughdril, St. Louis (5’10 170 Sr.)
KR James Evans, John F. Kennedy (5’9 145 Jr.)
FLX Keylan Moses, University Lab (6’3 220 Jr.)

Offensive Player of the Year: Brayden Williams, St. James
Defensive Player of the Year: Tyquerius Wilson, Union Parish
Coach of the Year: Jay Roark, Jena

QB Peyton Renfro, Iota (6’0 180 Jr.)
RB Steven Blanco, St. Martinville (5’8 195 Sr.)
RB Jim Burlew, Buckeye (5’10 185 Jr.)
RB Re’John Zeno, Jennings (5’9 180 Jr.)
WR Dylan Callahan, Iota (6’1 175 Sr.)
WR Cullen Charles, St. Martinville (5’11 175 Sr.)
WR Paxton Lafont, E.D. White (6’4 200 Sr.)
TE Luke Guillory, Iowa (6’3 220 Sr.)
OL Joel Fontenot, Jewel Sumner (5’9 290 Sr.)
OL Zach Guin, E.D. White (6’0 250 Jr.)
OL Curtis Harrison, Northwest (6’3 330 Jr.)
OL Aiden Palmer, Jena (6’1 315 Sr.)
OL Damian Reed, Iowa (6’1 275 Sr.)
K Ty Powell, E.D. White (6’0 170 Jr.)
ATH Dillon Compton, Bunkie (5’10 165 Jr.)

DL Demerion Dupas, Marksville (6’0 265 Sr.)
DL Kade Nugent, St. Louis (6’3 190 Jr.)
DL Colten Sharp, Jena (6’1 235 Jr.)
DL Zaylun Williams, Abbeville (5’10 250 Sr.)
LB Jackson King, Sterlington (5’11 200 Sr.)
LB Zion Lee, Bunkie (5’10 210 So.)
LB Walter Robertson, Jennings (6’1 215 Sr.)
LB Davon Thibodeaux, Northwest (6’2 210 Jr.)
DB Tomorrio Bilberry, Union Parish (6’0 175 Sr.)
DB Bernard Causey, John F. Kennedy (6’0 155 Sr.)
DB Matthew Escher, E.D. White (6’0 180 Sr.)
DB Raiyen Oatis, Donaldsonville (5’10 180 Sr.)
P Granville Anderson, University Lab (5’10 180 Sr.)
KR Jakias Villanueva, St. James (5’7 155 So.)
FLX Brennan Gibson, Port Allen (5’8 160 Jr.)